Lent, week 2: Possessions

I knew this week wouldn’t be terribly difficult. We have been trying to wean off our dependence on new “stuff”, plus we are most certainly probably maybe moving in a couple of months. So getting rid of stuff is a no-brainer!

And it feels so freeing. In a frenzy from reading 7, I gave away half of all of our clothes 3 weeks ago, and I don’t really seem to miss very much. Plus, I want to transition to dressing like an actually adult, not just wearing a bunch of ill-fitting bargains from a thrift store. So, now I just pretend like I am packing for a trip to Europe. A couple of pairs of jeans, some Danskos and some Toms, some long sleeved black shirts and a scarf or two are all you need for the winter. It feels good to simplify.

And, as sad as it was, we got rid of a TON of books. I kept about 2 bookshelves worth, mostly non-fiction, because I realize you can’t take it all with you.

As for the rest of our stuff–I will have to tackle it this week. We have been house sitting out in Clackamas which has made it a challenge to sort through our own sorry apartment.

Things that were hard this week: Baby ran out of bubble bath during day one, much to her chagrin. Baby started walking (thank you Jesus!!!!!!) this week and she only has one pair of shoes which we kept losing. I have not been clothes shopping since January (I have not even stepped inside of a thrift store) and I am starting to get grumpy about it (I am going to try and keep this up all of Lent). I love bargain hunting!

But overall, it was pretty easy. We just aren’t in a position to be hoarding anything right now. Plus, I lost one of my jobs on Friday, which was a good reminder of how fragile finances can be. If we keep running a tight ship it won’t be a problem, and I actually think this is a nudge from the Spirit telling me that I DO have more time now for my community.

Cheater Confession: The refugee girls I have been working with forever came over for a sleepover. Their mom asked me to buy them unmentionables, so I did. They very rarely ask for things like that, and I didn’t think twice about breaking the fast. The bad part is that we went to Walmart to get the stuff, because I just don’t know where to buy sweatshop free bras/underwear/socks. And you know what? Target is just as bad as Walmart (actually, they give less money away but use the same horrid labor practices) but because they have better marketing everybody goes to Target and looks up their noses at Walmart. So maybe this was my small way of rebelling? I don’t know, I feel conflicted about it.

Aaaaand, just to keep it real: We went to IKEA yesterday. But only bought a kids meal. The weather is so awful (rain! slush! snow!) and we just couldn’t mall walk. So we put the one pair of shoes the baby owns on (they are from China–thanks grandparents!–and they squeek) and walked the tarnation out of that child. It was very cute. And there were lots of things on sale but I wasn’t even tempted.

 

Tomorrow: Week number 3! No Media Week! I am freaking out about this one!

what a lovely swedish bedroom!

what a lovely swedish bedroom!

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Lent, week 2: Possessions

  1. I have baby bubble bath from my crazy coupon’ing! I could have rescued Rams from bubble-less baths — or maybe it was her own way of being involved? ;) (let me know if you still need the bubble bath and if you only use certains brands or something.) -Cori

  2. Robin Mayfield says:

    I love seeing the picture of Ramona standing! No media for a week?? Good thing you have already made it through all of Downton Abbey. I just finished watching the last one last night, that show is so fun to watch.

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,244 other followers

