Resurrection Cake

Image

photo by the hubs. so good at capturing the essence of babies, cats, and cakes.

Hey guys. Did I tell you about Easter? It was really great. Probably the most relaxing family holiday we have had in a while. While it was sad that we weren’t hosting entire bands (like the Sherwood Easter) or the entire staff of YWAM Salem, it was amazing to just sit around in the sunshine, eat some food, and watch the babies be cute.

When it comes to cooking, people never even ask me what I want to make anymore. There are too many good cooks in the kitchen (especially when the older sis is a renowned food blogger who makes things like nettle spanakopita for funsies). I am the girl who is good with butter, flour, and sugar. I am the baker.

So, with my one job to do, I went all out. I wanted to take all of Pinterest and convert it into a cake. To celebrate spring, being with family, the end of Lent–it feels too far out to say I really wanted to make this cake for Jesus, but you know what I mean.

So, I made a 5 layer purple ombre coconut cake.

For those interested in the deets, it was pretty uncomplicated. I used the martha stewart recipe for coconut cake (found here), but that recipe calls for 6-inch cake pans, and I only had 8-inchers. Plus, that recipe is not set up for the ombre-effect (it calls for baking 3 cakes and slicing them in half to create 6 layers), so I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 to fit my needs.

For the ombre effect, after I had mixed up the batter I divided the batter equally into 5 bowls using a measuring cup (tedious, but worth it). I added red and blue gel food coloring (sorry people, it has to be the gels in order to make the virbant colors), starting with a sleight hand and working up to a richer, more vibrant purple. One bowl I left free of color entirely, for the first layer. [Side note: this would have been much easier if I had just bought PURPLE food coloring. The mixing and matching took forever, and I was working frantically to get these in the oven by the time the baby woke up].

The layers were thin and only needed to bake for 15-18 minutes. Once they were cooled, I started stacking them, layering them with sprinkles of coconut and vanilla pudding instead of frosting (which I think made for a tastier cake).

Once they were all stacked, I finished it off with a very simple buttercream frosting, but you could do whatever you want.

Overall, the visual impact was great. The taste? Honestly, not my favorite cake. However, my husband and brother-in-law (who are both not cake people) said it was their most favorite cake ever. So there you have it.

Image

photo by rosemarried.

Goodbye, Purple Ombre Coconut Cake. You were good to us.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Resurrection Cake

  1. Anette says:

    Beautiful! I mean, I couldn’t eat it because it isn’t Betty Crocker and all…but it looks amazing! See now, all that seems like way too much work for a cake. Is it wrong that I would rather clean than bake? I don’t know, but the next time I “have” to bake something, I will call you. You can bake it while I either love all over your mini-muffin (aka, Little Miss Sunshine/your daughter); OR clean. Because I like to have a sense of control in a world full of chaos. :)

  2. rosemarried says:

    Oh, I hadn’t seen that you posted this. Huzzah! I had someone on my blog asking for YOUR recipe (you famous, girrrrl.) so I referred them to this post.

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,204 other followers

