D.L. Recommends vol. 2

D.L. Recommends vol. 2. 

Here are some things I recommend:

 

 

 

Busting out the Easter Dress Early

I got Ramona an Easter dress at the thrift store that gets all of it’s clothes donated from Target (I know. I found a way to work the system). Yesterday was nearly 60 degrees, so I had to let her wear it early. And go tromp around in the muddy rivers the snow was making. Because you are only 3 once.

 

Turning 30

It’s really quite nice.

 

Reframing the words to excellent songs in order to make them Toddler Appropriate

I used to sing “Oh Yoko” to my daughter when she was a baby, but I changed “Yoko” to her name, and the chorus became “my love will lead you home”. Tonight we danced around and sang it to each other. It was pretty great. Very Rushmore-esq.

 

Found

This is a book by Micha Boyett. I love the poetic-ness, and how she juxtaposes the mundane aspects of the stay-at-home life with the contemplative life of Benedictine monks. Since I am also a recovering savior complex, spend a lot of time with a certain 3 year old, and also yearn to pray more, this book was excellent. Slow, simple, and it made me realize how much space there already was for contemplation in my life.

 

Watching Cat Vines

Vine is very newfangled to me. But watching 6 second loops of cats being cute/ridiculous/funny is seriously soothing to my soul.

 

Eating Sugar Cereal

Having a bad week? Buy a $3 box of sugar cereal (preferably: Lucky Charms) and pour yourself a tall bowl. Aaaah.

 

Throwing Class Parties

As a teacher of adults, it really is my prerogative when it comes to throwing class parties. Sometimes the complexity of it overwhelms me: perhaps not everyone can afford to bring food, what if nobody shows up, how do we communicate (remember I teach level 0 pre-literacy). But I am leaning into this commitment to celebration thing we have going on in our order. This week we had a class party and it was so smashingly fantastic. I had SO much pasta and so many sambusas. East African food FTW!

 

Sambusa

If you have never had one, you are missing out. Like the Indian Samosa, but filled with ground beef and onions and occasionally peppers. The best East African snack/street food EVER.

 

Brooklyn 99

Oh my gosh this is our new favorite show. So funny, the characters are so endearing, Andy Samberg and his big goofy smile just win you over. It is not a cop show at all. It is a show about a bunch of dorky people doing what they love. This show makes me sad for other shows.

 

Applying/Pitching for Scary Things

Grants. Week-long retreats. An article at a place you have never written. For me and my writing, if I don’t push myself, I tend not to produce. And for every 99 rejections, there seems to be 1 acceptance! Yay!

 

Reading YA during Spring Break

I am officially on spring break. While I have a few deadlines to make (plus, I crammed in a ton of socializing time in like I do), I am determined to make it somewhat feel like a reprieve. Enter the Young Adult literature.. I have gotten all of John Green and Rainbow Rowell’s entire oeuvre’s on hold for me at the library. Remember when life was simple but felt really complicated? When you fell in love with the first boy you kissed? When you were s emotional and sure that nobody felt like you, until the one day you realized how beautiful the world was and everyone in it? Yeah, that’s like my norm. So YA just feels right.

 

Listening to Built to Spill While the Snow Thaws

It just feels right.

 

Americanah

You will be hearing more about this book from me at some point in the near future. Chimamanda Ngoze Adichie writes in a way that is lulling and piercing. Her descriptions of immigrant life in America resonated so deeply with me I was almost embarrassed. Her words on racism in America have not left my mind. It’s not ok, the author is telling us, over and over again. Cruelty is never ok. You don’t get to gloss over that fact, ever.

 

Figuring out your Rule of Life

Pope John Paul the II had one. So did MLK.  So do all the Benedictine  monks. Basically, pick a few spiritual disciplines and incorporate them into your life.  I personally like to crib from Dorothy Day (a personal hero of mine): find the face of Christ in the poor every day, and journal journal journal.

 

Ditching Netflix/Hulu plus for Amazon prime

Guys. Amazon Prime is amazing. Quit your Netflix and your Hulu and instead get free 2 day shipping and access to shows like Veronica MarsPushing DaisiesZach Stone is Gonna Be Famous, and the Pride and Prejudice that has Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy. Yes. If you divide the cost of Prime over 12 months, it’s like $6 a month or something. Caveat: Amazon is also not the best thing ever. Support local and all that. Make your own instead of consumption. Yeah. But I have ordered a few killer Doctor Who mugs and some organic fair trade coffee at some sweet deals. Just don’t go all crazy!

 

Read Genesis Again

I am in a Bible study with a neighbor and we are going through the Women of the Bible–starting in Genesis. Pretty bleak stuff, ammiright? Except there are so many stories of God hearing/seeing the oppressed. The stories of the Hagars, the Leahs. They just make me want to cry. I am also left with the unshakeable belief that God uses the most crazy miserable mess-ups to bring about his kingdom. I don’t get it at all, but it makes me feel a bit more hopeful about myself.

 

About Time

This movie came out last year and went under my radar. It is delightful–time travel, stiff upper lip British people, Bill Nighy!, that guy who played Bill Weasely . . . don’t be freaked out by the fact that there is a soft-focus Rachel McAdams on the cover. This is not the Notebook. It is very sweet and poignant and witty and just a really great movie (by the same people who brought you Love Actually). There is a phrase on love and death that will never leave me mind. But I won’t tell you. You will have to watch it for yourself.

 

 

 

So that’s what I am recommending these days. Hit me up with whatever you have got!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “D.L. Recommends vol. 2

  1. bobraxton says:

    Middlemarch (reading, more than 800 pages) in preparation — My Life in …

  2. Bethany Bassett says:

    Romans, homemade croutons, and the Punch Brothers. Also? Oatmeal in socks in the bath, just in case your household is enjoying a spring round of chickenpox too.

  3. Y. A. Warren says:

    I very much enjoy your positive position in life. When you and you Bible study come up with a reason why we still look to Abraham as a patriarch to follow, please let me know.

  4. Sambusas are THE BEST! I live off them during the summer and crave them the rest of the year. Yes to Amazon Prime. And I’m actually excited to read Americanah this summer – even though it’s fiction. LOVE that you are being brave and submitting your work!

  5. Tina says:

    You are cracking me up this week. My shallow comments are:

    I love Lucky Charms and I am almost 48 years old!

    Don’t knock The Notebook…I know it is kind of cheesy but I really do love that movie…even if it is Nicholas Sparks.

    An Easter dress and mud puddles…what a good momma you are! She will have great memories of those fun moments!

    I want a Sambusa. Do you have a recipe to share?

    I need to watch Brooklyn 99. I keep hearing how good it is but forget to watch or DVR it.

    The women of the bible are so complex. Keep reading about them.

    I think of you all often and see your picture every day on my refrigerator. I love seeing pictures of Ramona…what a great spirit she seems to have.

    God bless, take care and my prayers are with you!

    Tina Early

    Sent from my iPad

    >

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,263 other followers

