1 Week without Facebook

Week 1 without Facebook is going pretty good.

The highlights:

1. Not feeling bad about my life (because I am not comparing it to hundreds of others).

2. No longer thinking of expereinces in terms of status updates.

3. More time for reading (which I really have utillized. So many good things are in books!!!!!!)

 

The lowlights:

1. Spending a little too much time on Twitter. Not a ton, because I am unsure how to use it correctly, but enough so that it feels like I am just once again filling up my empty space.

2. Crickets. The sound of crickets in my in-box and my phone. Which makes me feel . . . not super awesome.

 

 

The lack of interaction with people due to not being on FB is a little bothersome. I am feeling a teensy bit lonely, not having my brain filled up with the minutia of everybody else’s life. Also: I HATE talking on the phone, so I think I must get over that. But the deeper questions of what types of relationships I hunger for (real, authentic, challenging) and how do I go about building those–those certainly haven’t been answered in a week.

It has been pretty wonderful, however, to dedicate more time to to Jesus, the husband, the baby, and my family. Which makes me realize that I have got some pretty fantastical stuff going on.

 

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “1 Week without Facebook

  1. Haha I love highlight 2! Congratulations on week 1! 🙂

  2. bresq says:

    Hello,
    I wanted to say I really appreciated your Relevant article. I’m planning on quoting you in a book I’m currently writing, too. When I read your article, I thought “hey, that’s exactly how I feel, too!”

    Thanks for the one week update, too. Are you planning on writing a “one month” post, or something like that? I permanently deleted my account in April last year and do not plan on ever returning. It’s so nice to be free from the network’s noise and rigmarole. If I do go back, I will definitely wait a full year, just to have the experience of being “fully away” for a solid chunk of time.

    Take care!

    • Hi! I am thinking of following up on that piece . . . especially as it looks like I will be going back on FB (in a very limited capacity) due to ministry stuff . . . I have enjoyed my extra free time so very much, and don’t plan on wasting any more time on that site! What book are you writing?

      • bresq says:

        Sorry… didn’t see your response ’til just now. I submitted a piece of my book to Tyndale’s Re:Write contest and it’s titled ‘Face-to-Face.’ I can’t remember the subtitle off-hand, but it has one. 🙂

        Have you gotten back on FB yet? I’ve played around with the idea, but can’t justify any of my reasons thus far.

thoughts?

