Guest Blog

So I got the chance to guest blog for my new internet-friend Jessica over at her blog. She is one of the founders of this amazing non-profit called Hill Country Hill Tribers. I have heard of this organization since last year, and I am just in awe. Burmese refugees in Austin, TX, are making some of the most beautiful jewelry out there! I seriously have a girl crush on Jessica, and not just because she is awesome and enjoys spending all her free time teaching ESL classes to refugee moms.

You can check out the guest blog here; it is a nice summary of my thoughts as of late.

Speaking of non-profits, one of my Bhutanese neighbors maybe/sorta wants to start her own small business. She is an amazing crochet-er (is that a word?) but many of her products would be  . . . difficult to market in Portland (she favors intense color combinations and things like TV covers from the 1960s). But she does make some killer baby turbans.

I am not rushing into anything, but I want to help in any way that I can. Here is my baby in one of the turbans:

hipster? or cancer patient?

Seriously, I need some more opinions. Do you think we could sell these in Portland? Would you buy your baby a turban?

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Guest Blog

  1. Jessica says:

    The girl crush is mutual! I love, love, love your post today and may be telling people for a long time, “We can’t use the poor as a prop in the story of Us.” Love.

    I think the turbans are cool, but in case you don’t get great feedback (I’m not a hipster, so I can’t tell if it’s ironic-cool or ironic-weird), can they replicate stuff from Pinterest? That might be easiest! We have a pinterest page for HCHT where some of our friends pin stuff and it’s helped our artisans develop their own version of stylish products. Still their design, but it’s a nice place to gather some images of what’s stylish. Can’t wait to see where this goes! I think we should bring TV covers back! 🙂

  2. mariajkintz says:

    i would gladly buy a baby turban, namely for the caleb & alyssa elliott baby!

  3. mariajkintz says:

    i would happily buy a baby turban, namely for the caleb & alyssa elliott baby!!

thoughts?

