feeling rough, feeling raw

I am feeling a little fragile this week.

My awesome neighbors moved to Paraguay, lovely church/small group/school friends are moving to London/Palestine (respectively), and my sister and her hubs and adorable baby are going to Egypt/Sudan for the summer. I miss everyone already.

All of them are off to do wonderful adventures, that is for sure. But it doesn’t make it any easier to be the one saying goodbye, being left.

The tides may be turning soon. We leave this weekend to scope out a wild part of the country I have never lived in before. Change is the in the air, and change can make anybody feel a little rough, a little raw.

I am totally the type of melancholic personality that is excited for new adventures but has to grieve all past experiences like it is my job or something. On top of all this, we are in the home stretch of everything–my job and the husband’s grad school will both be finished in 3 weeks. There is precious little margin in my life right now, so of course I am watching stupid television and reading fiction and contemplating making some subversive christian needlepoint. Because when life gets crazy, I start to hum little tunes and pretend it doesn’t exist.

Or write silly little blogs.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “feeling rough, feeling raw

  1. Anette says:

    Aww. It is tough when people you love move. At least now you’ll know how depressed I will be if/when/if/when you and your family leave! That didn’t help…did it? I know we aren’t BFF’s or anything. And we haven’t spent hours at each other’s dwellings, or even in each others presence…however, when you (*me*me*me*) feel like there is at least ONE person that I can identify with in this refugee experience, it makes me feel like I have known you much longer than I have. Sighhh.

    Isn’t it great that your post led me to leave a comment that was ALL about ME? Nice, Anette. Back to you: I challenge you to turn off your tv, put down the book, and allow yourself the time to just sit and allow God to breathe new life into you as you exit and enter into a new season. Listen to what He has to say in those moments, or what His Word says, and you might just be surprised what he has for you. You can keep blogging though, cuz I need a way to escape my own life…ok? Thanks! 😉

thoughts?

