Conversion

My new post at McSweeney’s is up here. I can’t believe I only have 3 more to go! This makes me want to cry, just a little.

Also, I just read a blog post from a woman who lived in Haiti for a year or two. It is on the whole short-term missions debacle, which I have tried to stay out of for some time now. However, I think she makes a few good points. One, is that we defend our trips overseas because they meant something to us, and we ignore the fact that we are disempowering people all the time (not to mention ignoring missionaries who plead that we just send support/supplies). The other idea is that we don’t expect people to care about the poor unless we drop them in the midst of the poor. Is this true or not? I know that I was only awakened from my entitled American stupor as a result of direct friendships with people of a lower socio-economic status. I want to believe that people can care without having to smell the death and desperation of true poverty, but maybe this isn’t true.

In any case, just because there are no easy answers on this one doesn’t mean it isn’t worth wrestling. I greatly identified with the post because every single bloody day of my life I am wondering what I am doing: am I creating more barriers or breaking them down? And honestly, I don’t know what the tally is right now. I just know I am supposed to keep going, one step at a time.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Conversion

  1. I’ve been convicted about the evil of spending so much while other literally die, for a while now. When I bring it up to my believer friends most of them make pitying and condescending comments. I think the Church in general is in complete, active denial. When it’s brought up most believers I know seem desperate to change the subject. Wheat and Tares, I suppose.

thoughts?

