therefore we do not lose heart

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed,but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. 2 Corinthians 4:8-9

hard pressed

my husband’s sister was in a car crash on saturday.  it was very, very bad, and it happened very far away (in japan). multiple skull fractures, severe head trauma, broken ribs and collarbone, ruptured spleen, bleeding in the brain. she arrived at the hospital in a coma, and is now in a medically induced one until next week. at that point, the extent of her injuries will be known. for now, we wait.

perplexed

she is so young, so full of life. she graduated from high school this year, is adored by our toddler, has a zest for life. we cannot believe this happened.

persecuted

it is hard for thoughts not to swing wildly back and forth, to the two extreme outcomes of this situation, to the muddle of everything in between. it is hard to be so far away, both from the hospital and from support systems of family and friends.

struck down

it is hard to know how we are supposed to act, living in this limbo of grief and shock. sometimes we talk and pray and cry, and reach out to others. sometimes we sit and drink cold apple cider and watch harry potter, cocooned away from the world. we don’t know what to do.

i am writing this as a way of telling you i don’t really have any words right now, and i am writing this so you can pray with us. for if there is one thing we can do this week, while we wait in fear and hope, is pray. to the ultimate healer, the one who holds us all in his hands.

if you feel called, this wednesday we are going to be praying and fasting, that this precious girl would be restored to health. consider fasting one meal out of your day and let us be a great cloud of witnesses, of hope in things unseen.

lord, hear our prayers.

19 thoughts on “therefore we do not lose heart

  1. I will fast with you on Wednesday. Less food, more healing, love and hope for Kamee.

  2. Beth says:

    won’t wait until Wednesday–praying now.

  3. A distant cousin of mine was also in a car crash on Saturday and was killed, and her close family and friends are reeling from it. That, your sister-in-law, and some other terrible events I have heard about are all weighing heavily on my heart. I sometimes don’t even know how to pray, but I trust that God hears what is in my heart even if I can’t find the words.

  4. Jesus, be near to Kamee and all who love her.

  5. Laurie says:

    I am praying for God to place His healing on Kamee right now….and that He would comfort you all…that you would experience an overwhelming sense of peace as you rest in Christ.

  6. jennie1lynn says:

    I will be praying & fasting with you on Wednesday. (Please let me know if you need anything else at all)

  7. Lisa Ramsey says:

    I will be praying and fasting with you on Wednesday.

  8. wackyweavers says:

    Count us in, as we count on HIM, on knees together

  9. measententia says:

    My thoughts and prayers in His love with You.

  10. Tina says:

    Feeling your pain today and praying for your family. I truly understand your anguish as my brother was in a similar state over 25 years ago. The waiting is so hard, but our God is big and he can heal her and restore her fully. Blessings to you!

    Tina

    Sent from my iPad

  11. Praying for all of you.

  12. I am so, so sorry to read this, Danielle. Praying for you all – for you and your husband in the midst of the loneliness and worry, for your husband’s extended family in their grief and shock and for Kamee, that she might receive a mighty touch of healing power, even as her body and brain rest from this trauma. Oh, my. LORD, have mercy. Christ eleison.

  13. Martha Lester says:

    You don’t know me Danielle, but my kids went to school with Kamee in Kunming. I worked under Matt at KIA. We met on sundays with the Mayfields to worship. I wanted to let you know that there is a cloud of witnesses in NW Arkansas praying for Kamee each day since we found out. I will join you in fasting one meal tomorrow. Our community group and ladies’ bible study here are praying and will continue. Shalom, Martha

  14. […] I had my ideas carefully laid out, my own answer for everything. In the space between those days, tragedy has struck my family. The kind that leaves you glassy-eyed and numb, walking through the days half-asleep. You get one […]

  15. […] then tragedy came and slammed us hard, knocked us down, dragged us to the door. So my rant evolved into a quiet […]

  16. Brittany says:

    I mentioned this on one of the other prosperity gospel posts-

    My brother died due to injuries from a car accident 7 years ago. The circumstances sound eerily similar. I don’t say any of this to alarm, I just wanted to share what my family witnessed in the time that he was in the hospital.

    He was in a medically induced coma for 8 days, he had his spleen removed, his liver was lacerated, he had flown 50 feet from the vehicle and subsequently split his head open near the crown causing his brain to swell. He had other injuries, broken bones and what not but those were the most serious. When you see someone you love in a state such as this, it’s halting. I remember seeing my Grandpa cry for the first time and my brothers friends PRAY. I mean, out loud, ugly cry pray. His friends weren’t the ‘praying’ type. They mostly all claimed Christianity as their faith but it was more of a title than the very thing they form their life around. And they prayed. After he died, one girl particularly put all of her efforts into getting her life ‘on track.’ My grandpa was a hard man for the majority of my life, but in the years since Justin died he has become gentle, playful, soft (I like to describe him as our giant teddy bear). He was stubborn and very legalisitc before, but losing Justin showed him how little time we have with each other and now, every chance he has to be with his kids and grandkids, he takes it. And he plays with the babies and talks long at the table with those of that are older.

    I saw God in ways that I certainly did not pray for and that I would never have wished for at the time. In hindsight, though, His very loving presence was all around and anyone who stepped foot in his hospital room knew it.

    I just want to say that I am praying for the brokenness and fear and worry and any number of emotions that your family is experiencing right now.

    But I also want to say, take heart. No matter the outcome, no matter the end, be it she goes home or Home, God’s promise is most certainly to be there until the end. I have seen how he makes good on this promise, even when the unthinkable occurs. His mercies are abundant, and whatever that looks like for your family, I will be praying continually for it.

    Love and love…

  17. Tanya Marlow says:

    I’ve just heard about this via Seth Haines’ blog. I’m thinking of you all as you inhabit this weird limbo-land of in-between and not-knowing. I’m praying. Much love.

thoughts?

