D.L. Recommends vol. 4

 

 

Stuff that I, D.L., humbly recommend.

 

 

 

 

9752_537717594121_4352203563298829274_n

 

 

MidWest Leaves

Now that we live in a house with a yard and trees we get to play in the leaves that fall off. I was so confused that it was so awesome and crunchy and wonderful and then i remembered what leaves are like in Portland–wet, sodden, clumpy hidey-holes for slugs. Not so awesome. So yeah, MidWest, you win the fall game. You still super lose at the winter game, however.

 

 

The Longest Shortest Time

Have I talked about this yet? This is like the best podcast ever for parents. Short, poignant, interesting–I love everything they do. It makes you feel both understood as a crazy person (aka parent) and really validates what a horrible, wonderful time it is.

 

 

Quitting

I really recommend quitting something if you just aren’t feeling it. This month I tried to watch Gilmore Girls but I just wanted to murder everyone so badly so I stopped. I also quit halfway through the first Outlander book (oh my word it was not my cup of tea) and I basically have quit watching television. There is no shame in giving up and moving on to greener pastures.

 

 

Awesome Essay Collections that just happen to be written by Women

Two books I have read over the past few months (The Empathy Exams by Leslie Jameson and On Immunity: An Inoculation by Eula Biss) were both so stunning and so thoughtful that I can’t stop thinking about them. I am also excited to read books by Roxane Gay and Amy Poehler (the jury is still out on what I think about Lena Dunham). I would love to see Christian publishing catch up on this trend of amazing essay collections.

 

 

Coconut Chai Granola

It is not hyperbolic AT ALL to say that this stuff is saving my life right now. This is the third batch I have made and I eat it nearly every morning with plain yogurt. So. Good. I adapted it from this recipe here.

 

 

Watching this Sara Miles video

 

http://view.vzaar.com/1634328/flashplayer

“Jesus didn’t come to cure. He came to heal. And the way he does that is by healing into community” The most fabulous reminder of what it really is that we are after–the hard, difficult, long-term resurrections.

 

 

Praying Drunk by Kyle Minor

Kyle Minor has been a revelation to discover. His writing is so pointed and sharp and terrible. He comes from a fundamentalist Christian background and is not shy about working through the complications therein. His short-fiction reads as real as anything (you MUST read the stories in Praying Drunk in order, just as the author orders you to) but it ain’t for the faint of heart. Even though it is written from a place of doubt, it spurred on many conversations between me and God.

 

 

Serial

Another podcast recommendation. Serial is a spin-off of This American Life and it follows one story for an entire season. It is addicting, and fascinating, and I never knew I could be so interested in true-crime radio drama. Trust me on this. You will be itching for the next episode soon.

 

 

While You Were Sleeping

I just re-watched this and it was confirmed: best movie ever made. I also can’t watch it without texting my younger sister random quotes (our favorites: “Mary mashed them” “these mashed potatoes are so creamy” and “Ice capades–I know a guy”).

 

 

Being An Aunt

I know I have recommended this before, but I have to say it again: being an aunt is so awesome.

 

 

Mr. Rogers

Both my daughter and I are besotted with how gentle, calm, and loving Mr. Rogers is. What a gift of a show (plus, that emphasis on neighborliness/affirming the value of children is right up my alley). St. Fred indeed.

 

 

Ethiopian Food

The first time I had Ethiopian food I hated it (true story). That weird, gray, sour bread (injera), the different lumps of unidentifiable stew–I wasn’t feeling it. Ever since being here in the exotic MidWest, however, I can’t stop craving it. I wish you could all come and eat in my neighborhood because you would walk away obsessed with this food as well. So flavorful, delicious, and addictive (plus, relatively healthy). The restaurants are great, but the best food (naturally) is always found in the homes and apartments of your friends.

 

 

Nate Allen

My friends Nate and Tessa are undefinable, but when pressed I would describe them as charismatic anarchist Christian punks. The last time they stopped by our place they prayed over me and it was like the best thing ever. They make amazing, theatrical music together as Destroy Nate Allen, but currently Nate is striking out to record a solo album that is a bit quieter and is deeply introspective and vulnerable. I love anything these people do and I am a backer of their current kickstarter. Go check it out (those mason jars!) and think about supporting it yourself. Plus, my husband is on the mixtape compilation that Nate is putting out!

 

 

Listening to Christmas Music as Early As You Would Like

Haters gonna hate. I am a Christmas Unicorn, after all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So that’s all I got for this volume of D.L. Recommends. What have y’all been into lately????

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “D.L. Recommends vol. 4

  1. Leigh Kramer says:

    Fall in Nashville isn’t too shabby but there is something especially wonderful about fall in the Midwest. Nothing like jumping in a big pile of leaves! I am sad you were unable to appreciate Gilmore Girls or Outlander but I will not judge you for it. 😉 I’ll be trying that granola soon. I am OBSESSED with Serial. I’m surprised by how much I think about each episode afterward. I’ve also been thinking a ton about how well I remember my seemingly ordinary days. Hint: not that well.

  2. remember the Mr. Rogers remix? I love it so much.

  3. Timothy says:

    Also, “I go to work and sit in a box, like a veal”.

  4. Ed Cyzewski says:

    Have you watched Daniel Tiger? It’s a cartoon based on the puppets in Mr. Rogers. That’s the only television show I’ve watched with Ethan, but it seemed to be a hit.

    Also, if you’re not feeling it with television shows, hockey is a lovely Minnesota pass time. The Wild are looking pretty solid this year! Just saying.

  5. skmooney says:

    Rarely does a dinner with my siblings with mashed potatoes on the table go by without someone running through the “so creamy” / “Mary mashed them” routine. Glad we are not alone with our odd appreciation for obscure WYWS quotes.

  6. Michaela. says:

    oh, I hear you on Gilmore Girls, but I still love it! Somehow it works for me. But I’m a massive fan of Parenthood ☺️ Outlander, couldn’t make it past the first few chapters.
    I just discovered an Ethiopian place but have yet to try it. Not sure about that bread though…

  7. We are also enjoying Serial, no autumn leaves here though!

  8. Liza says:

    Funny, funny! Tried one episode of Gilmore- good grief! Just bought outlander book 1 and now I’m worried that I’m going to hate it. Crap! Nate Allen? Must check out. Fall leaves- yeah, they just kind of are a pain after a while. But a pretty pain. And Serial! Thank you for the recommendation! Will add it to podcast list pronto!

thoughts?

